Home / Human Rights / UNHCR: Western countries have agreed to resettle migrants in Libya in their countries

UNHCR: Western countries have agreed to resettle migrants in Libya in their countries

The United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) in Libya, Roberto Mignone, said that New Zealand and other Western countries had agreed to resettle some refugees and asylum seekers that are stranded in Libya.

On Tuesday, in a press statement at the United Nations mission headquarters in Tripoli, Mignone stated that these countries had agreed to the resettlement of the migrant after conducting interviews in their embassies outside Libya, according news agency Xinhua. Mignone said the UNHCR planned to deport about 1,000 asylum seekers from Libya by next January and deport between 5000 and 10000 in 2018.

He said that the refugees targeted in the deportation plan are from seven countries: Palestine, Iraq, Syria, Eritrea, Sudan, Somalia and Ethiopia; noting that the UNHCR registered more than 44 thousand asylum seekers in Libya.

It is noteworthy that the International Organization for Migration in Libya announced last Saturday, the deportation of more than 17 thousand illegal immigrants from Libya to their countries of origin during the current year.

#Libya #News

#ArraedLG #BuildingANation

Leave your vote

Check Also

Alkishar: The government is not interested in the mass graves file and deals with it idlely

The head of the management Council of Tarhuna Municipality, Mohamed Alkisher, said in a statement …

Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.