Home / Politics / After the success of the electoral process in it … Al-Soqotri was elected as mayor of the Misurata municipality.

After the success of the electoral process in it … Al-Soqotri was elected as mayor of the Misurata municipality.

This September, the city of Misurata witnessed elections to reconstitute its municipal council, the second in its modern history after the February 17th revolution.

The Misurata municipality elections were welcomed locally and internationally, the most important of which is the UN mission in Libya, which confirmed that the elections demonstrated once again the determination of the Libyans to exercise their right to vote and to democracy.

The Misurata Municipal Council elections, started last August, with the opening the door for the registration of voters’ , the reception of candidate files, and the provision of technical and logistical equipment.

The date of these elections has been postponed more than once. Due to the outbreak of the Corona epidemic, but the City Council insisted on completing the elections, and holding them, after several postponements.

Today, the Emaar List, the winner of the Municipal Council elections in Misurata, elected Mahmoud Al-Soqotari as mayor of the municipality, in a ceremony witnessed by the city, during which the legal oath of the elected members was taken.

The elections that took place in the municipality on the third of September, in which the “Emaar” list won 10,000 votes in the municipal elections, witnessed a competition between a number of lists, including 15 lists for seats designated for the general category, and seven women participated in the seats allocated to the women’s category. And six candidates for the seats reserved for people with special needs, won by Ibrahim Abdul-Salam Safar, and the woman’s seat was won by Hamida Mohamed Al-Manqoush.

According to the results published by the Central Committee for Municipal Elections, the Emaar list received 10313 votes, followed by Alsa”a in 3917, then Alamadhela with 2382, Alshamis with 2050, and then Almoftah with 1681.

In the following ranks for the other lists, Alsahm list with 1353, then Alsafina with 1345, the Almanara with 761, Alqalam with 710, followed by Alnakhla, Alshoalla, Almaa, Aljamel, Altareeq, and Alsalam.

The total number of participating voters was about 27,311, and according to the data of the Central Committee for Municipal Elections, 76 poll stations across 12 municipal branches were allocated to cast votes.

Leave your vote

Check Also

Al-Jazawi: There is a tendency to adopt the parliament election law in the next session

Member of Parliament Saad Al-Jazwi said, in a statement to Arraed, that there is a …

Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.